How My Life Changed Forever (In Numbers)

numbers1

  • 13 months, 8 days – Length of time since the original tumor was found
  • 12 months, 17 days – Length of time since it was officially diagnosed as cervical cancer
  • 1,190 – Number of miles I moved to receive treatment
  • 10 – Number of embryos I have frozen
  • 7 – Number of eggs I have frozen
  • 85% – Chance that they would treat me, and the cancer would be gone
  • 15% – Where I actually fell
  • 6 months, 19 days – Length of time since my re-diagnosis
  • 6 months, 13 days – Length of time since I first heard “incurable” and was told I probably had 10 months to live
  • 5 months, 17 days –  Length of time since my hair first started to fall out from chemo
  • 2 months, 17 days – Length of time since the surgery that may save my life
  • 15 inches – Length of the scar that runs down my abdomen
  • 0 – Number of internal female reproductive organs I have left
  • 643 hours – Conservative estimate of time I’ve spent in a medical facility since November 18, 2011 (that equals about 27 days)
  • 16 – Number of doctors with whom I’ve consulted on this journey
  • 5 – Number of tumors removed
  • 4, 236 – Number of prayers said and messages of gratitude sent out (by me) regarding my health in the last 13 months and 8 days
Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “How My Life Changed Forever (In Numbers)

  1. Marcia Almeida says:

    I am 53, a breast cancer survivor and I am also adopted as my adopted mother could not have children. #1 – you are a very strong and brave woman to have gone through everything you have. I do not know that I could have been as courageous as you have been. #2 – Apparently the Lord has something good in store for you in your future, because you are still here. #3 – Reproducing isn’t all that it’s made out to be. It’s painful, you’re violently sick a lot of the time and a baby puts permanent damage on your body…much like cancer. PS, having babies isn’t at all about carrying them in your belly and the painful labor at the end ripping all sorts of parts you didn’t even know you had. It’s the rest of your life raising a child that makes you a mother. I’m adopted and so is my brother. Us adopted children turn out to be the ones that change the world because they were chosen by their parents. Look how many women have children and then turn out to be the worst parents or no parents at all. #4 – I’m so very sorry your journey appears to have been very painful. My prayer for you is that from this day forward you never looked back, ever again. That you wake up every day thankful that you are strong and you are blessed and you are here. Join the rest of us cancer survivors who are using what we went through to make the rest of our lives the best we could ever have. You are here for a reason Darling, and we love that about you. Lots of Love and Prayers for your healing. Warrior Marcia.

  2. Dick Willis says:

    You are never out of my thoughts. I believe very strongly in your full recovery.

  3. Allison Singer says:

    Innumerable- Lives you have touched by sharing your remarkable journey. Your courage is inspiring, your resilience astounding and your wit unparalleled. With continuing prayers for your health, gratitude for your spirit and much love always.

  4. Emily says:

    2 – Vaccines for my boys. This mom plans to make sure her two boys gets the HPV vaccine as a result of your story. (Even though I’m sure they will save themselves for marriage.)

    • kpozzoli says:

      That’s great news! And it’s also great that your boys may save themselves for marriage. However, their partners may not, so the vaccine is always a good idea!

  5. Always sending thoughts and prayers for you, Kelly! I’m certain that our whole extended SuperCamp family is pulling for you and sending their prayers and support… 🙂 Keep kicking cancer’s ass!

  6. Jackie Johnson says:

    As an ovarian cancer survivor I have never met or heard of a fellow survivor who felt the same way I did. Thank you. I have recently received a dx of hpv so my fear of recurrance is in a flair. Thank you for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

